Sindhu, Sakshi, Dipa receive Khel Ratna award, Rahane gets Arjuna award

August 29, 2016 7:13 pm
More videos

The four Khel Ratnas PV Sindhu, Sakshi Malik, Dipa Karmakar and shooter Jitu Rai received the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, India’s highest sporting honour, from President Pranab Mukherjee on Monday. India’s silver medal winner at Rio Olympics 2016 P V Sindhu and bronze medal winner Sakshi Malik were greeted with a loud round of applause when they walked up to receive their awards from President Pranab Mukherjee. All Khel Ratnas received a medal, certificate and cash prize of Rs. 7.5 lakh each.

Also honoured on this occasion included 15 Arjuna awardees who received statuettes, certificates and award money of Rs.5 lakh each. Cricketer Ajinkya Rahane missed out on the ceremony as he is in the United States with the Indian team.

About The Author